We shape the future, the future shapes us

Teaching is an important part of my daily work. I believe that teaching and research should go hand in hand. On the one hand so that the students are informed about the current state of knowledge and on the other hand that I can inspire students directly for the current topics of my research. I implement this vision in in-depth lectures, such as “Password-based Cryptography” or “Privacy-Preserving Cryptocurrencies”. In these lectures current results of our research are conveyed directly to the students. For me, a good lecture is one that conveys complex and deep content in an understandable way. Einstein is credited with the quote “If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough” and I share this opinion. At the same time, I think that university teaching must be demanding and that no “pass quotas” should be subordinated. This is not only in the interest of the university, but also in the interest of the students. If the content of lectures is too simple, this diminishes the value of the degree in the long term and the university loses its right to exist. In the following I give an overview of the event.

Introduction to modern Cryptography
The lecture “Introduction to Modern Cryptography” gives a comprehensive introduction to modern cryptography and serves as the basis for the advanced courses at the chair. The lecture includes the following theme:
  • Provable security
  • Information-theoretic security
  • Security against efficient adversaries
  • Private-key encryption
  • Message authentication codes
  • Hash functions
  • Public-key encryption
  • Digital signatures

This lecture is based on the book of Jonathan Katz and Yehuda Lindell.

Language: Englisch | 7,5 Credits | Winter Term

Dieses Bild zeigt die UCSB, dort findet traditionell die CRYPTO Konferenz statt. Die Crypto ist eine der führenden Konferenzen in unserem Gebiet. Das Bild stammt von der Crypto 2020 website.

Privacy-Preserving Cryptocurrency
The advanced lecture “Privacy-Preserving Cryptocurrency” gives a comprehensive introduction to modern techniques and cryptocurrencies that promote privacy and have as their goal. The lecture is based on current research results that were found at my chair. The lecture includes the following theme:
  • Introduction in blockchain
  • Basic crypto
  • Techniques for Bitcoin
    • CoinShuffle
    • Zerocoin
    • Tumblebit
  • Ring Confidential Transactions (Monero)
    • Grundlagen
    • Einführung in Monero
    • Bulletproofs
  • Zerocash

Language: Englisch | 7,5 Credits | Sommer Term

Password-based Cryptography
Although passwords only give weak security guarantees, they are indispensable in practice. The advanced lecture “Password-based Cryptography” gives a comprehensive introduction to the storage and use of cryptographic protocols, the security of which is based on passwords. The lecture is based on current research results that were found at my chair.
  • Storage of passwords
    • Rainbow tables
    • Memory hard functions
  • Password hardening
  • Password-hardend encryption

Further topics in this area.

Language: Englisch | 7,5 Credits | Winter Term

Wir formen die Zukunft, die Zukunft formt uns

Lehre ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil meiner täglichen Arbeit. Ich bin der Meinung, dass Lehre und Forschung „Hand in Hand“ gehen sollten; zum einen damit die Studenten über den aktuellen Stand des Wissens informiert werden und zum anderen damit ich Studenten direkt für die aktuellen Themen meiner Forschung begeistern kann. Diese Vision setze ich in vertiefenden Vorlesungen, wie zum „Password-based Cryptography“ oder „Privacy-Preserving Cryptocurrencies“ gezielt um. In diesen Vorlesungen werden aktuelle Ergebnisse unserer Forschung direkt an die Studenten vermittelt. Für mich ist eine gute Vorlesung die, die komplizierte und tiefe Inhalte verständlich vermittelt. Einstein wird das Zitat „If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough“ zugeschrieben und ich teile diese Meinung. Gleichzeitig denke ich, dass universitäre Lehre anspruchsvoll sein muss und sich keiner „Bestehensquoten“ unterordnen darf. Dies ist nicht nur im Interesse der Universität, sondern auch im Interesse der Studierenden. Sind die Inhalte von Vorlesungen zu einfach, so schmälert dies langfristig den Wert des Abschlusses und die Universität verliert ihre Daseinsberechtigung. Im folgenden gebe ich eine Übersicht über die Veranstaltung.

Einführung in die moderne Kryptographie
Die Vorlesung „Einführung in die moderne Kryptographie“ gibt eine umfassende Einführung in die moderne Kryptographie und dient als Grundlage für vertiefende Lehrveranstaltungen des Lehrstuhls. Die Vorlesung umfasst folgende Theme:
  • Beweisbare Sicherheit
  • Informationstheoretische Sicherheit
  • Sicherheit gegen effiziente Angreifer
  • Private-key Verschlüsselung
  • Message Authentication Codes
  • Hash Funktionen
  • Public-key Verschlüsselung
  • Digitale Unterschriften

Die Vorlesung basiert auf dem Buch von Jonathan Katz und Yehuda Lindell.

Sprache: Englisch | 7,5 Credits | Winter Semester

Dieses Bild zeigt die UCSB, dort findet traditionell die CRYPTO Konferenz statt. Die Crypto ist eine der führenden Konferenzen in unserem Gebiet. Das Bild stammt von der Crypto 2020 website.

Privacy-Preserving Cryptocurrency
Die weiterführende Vorlesung „Privacy-Preserving Cryptocurrency“ gibt eine umfassende Einführung in moderne Techniken und Kryptowährungen, die den Schutz der Privatsphäre fördern und als Ziel haben. Die Vorlesung beruht auf aktuellen Forschungsergebnissen, die an meinem Lehrstuhl gefunden wurden. Die Vorlesung umfasst folgende Themen:
  • Einführung in Blockchain
  • Grundlegende kryptographische Verfahren
  • Techniken für Bitcoin
    • CoinShuffle
    • Zerocoin
    • Tumblebit
  • Ring Confidential Transactions (Monero)
    • Grundlagen
    • Einführung in Monero
    • Bulletproofs
  • Zerocash

Sprache: Englisch | 7,5 Credits | Sommer Semester

Password-based Cryptography
Obwohl Passwörter nur schwache Sicherheitsgarantien geben, sind diese aus der Praxis nicht wegzudenken. Die weiterführende Vorlesung „Password-based Cryptography“ gibt eine umfassende Einführung in die Speicherung und die Verwendung von kryptographischen Protokollen, deren Sicherheit auf Passwörtern beruht. Die Vorlesung beruht auf aktuellen Forschungsergebnissen, die an meinem Lehrstuhl gefunden wurden.
  • Speicherung von Passwörtern
    • Rainbow tables
    • Memory hard functions
  • Password hardening
  • Password-hardend encryption

Weiterführenden Themen in diesem Bereich.

Sprache: Englisch | 7,5 Credits | Winter Semester